Core Faculty

  • Elizabeth Marchant

    Chair of Gender Studies; Associate Professor of Gender Studies and Comparative Literature

    Subfield: Latin American Cultural Studies, Comparative Race and Feminisms in the Americas, 19th- and 20th-Century Latin American Literature and Film

    Contact Information

    Email    marchant@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2222 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Sarah Haley

    Vice Chair and Associate Professor, Gender Studies; Associate Director, Center for the Study of Women

    Subfield: U.S. Women's and Gender History, African American History 1865-Present, Critical Prison Studies, Social Movements, Labor & Working Class Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    shaley@ucla.edu
    Office  1117 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-206-5228
  • Juliann Anesi

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    janesi@ucla.edu
    Office  1312 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-825-7186
  • Aisha Finch

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and African American Studies

    Subfield: Caribbean and Latin American History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Feminism, Comparative Slavery, Black Cultural Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    akfinch@ucla.edu
    Office  2210 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-206-1669
  • Mishuana Goeman

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies; Chair, American Indian Studies Interdepartmental Program and Associate Director, American Indian Studies Research Center

    Subfield: Native American Literature, 20th Century American Literature, Race and Ethnic Theory

    Contact Information

    Email    goeman@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2216 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Joshua Guzmán

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Performance studies, Latina/o cultural studies, sexual cultures, aesthetics and queer theory

    Contact Information

    Email    joshuaguzman@ucla.edu
    Office  1314 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Ju Hui Judy Han

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    judyhan@ucla.edu
    Office  7284 Bunche Hall
    Phone 
  • Grace Hong

    Professor, Gender Studies and Asian American Studies

    Subfield: Women of Color Feminism, Comparative & Relational Race Theory, Cultural Studies, Political Economies of Race, Gender, and Sexuality, Race and Neoliberalism

    Contact Information

    Email    gracehongucla@gmail.com
    Office  3329 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-206-8006
  • Zeynep Korkman

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Ttransnational feminisms; cultural politics; gender, labor, and affect; and religion, secularism, and the public sphere, with a regional focus on Turkey and the larger Middle East.

    Contact Information

    Email    korkman@ucla.edu
    Office  7266 Bunche Hall
    Phone 
  • Rachel C. Lee

    Professor, Gender Studies and English; Director, Center for the Study of Women

    Contact Information

    Email    rlee@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  Kaplan Hall 234
    Phone  (310) 825-7515
  • Nancy Marie Mithlo

    Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: visual anthropology, Indigenous visual arts and curation, gender analysis, film studies, photographic archives, museum critique, arts education and Indigenous knowledge production; Native North America, globalized popular culture

    Contact Information

    Email    mithlo@ucla.edu
    Office  1120 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-206-8101
  • Kathryn Norberg

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and History

    Subfield: History of Prostitution, European Women Pre-1800, Material Culture: Fashion and Furniture, Women of the French Court

    Contact Information

    Email    knorberg@ucla.edu
    Office  5248 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-7317
  • Sherene Razack

    Distinguished Professor, Gender Studies; Penny Kanner Endowed Chair in Women's Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    sherenerazack@ucla.edu
    Office  6240 Public Affairs
    Phone 
  • Shannon Speed

    Professor, Gender Studies and Anthropology; Director, American Indian Studies Center

    Contact Information

    Email    sspeed@aisc.ucla.edu
    Office  3220A Campbell Hall
    Phone  310-206-9673
  • Sharon Traweek

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and History

    Contact Information

    Email    traweek@history.ucla.edu
    Office  2214 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-825-2884
  • Juliet A. Williams

    Professor, Gender Studies and Chair, Social Science Interdisciplinary Program (SSIDP)

    Subfield: Gender and the Law; Feminist Political Theory; Masculinity Studies; Gender and Education; Feminist Cultural Studies; Socio-Legal Research Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    jawilliams@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2201 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  310-794-7954

Joint Faculty

  • Maylei Blackwell

    Associate Professor, Chicana & Chicano Studies and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    maylei@chavez.ucla.edu
    Office  7343 Bunche Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-3082
  • Jessica Cattelino

    Associate Professor, Anthropology and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    jesscatt@anthro.ucla.edu
    Office  397 Haines Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-4400
  • Lieba Faier

    Associate Professor, Geography and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    lfaier@geog.ucla.edu
    Office  1255 Bunche Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-3525
  • Alicia Gaspar De Alba

    Professor, Chicana & Chicano Studies and Gender Studies and Chair, LGBT Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    agdealba@chavez.ucla.edu
    Office  7367 Bunche Hall
    Phone  (310) 206-3491
  • Gil Hochberg

    Professor of Comparative Literature and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    hochberg@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  340 Kaplan Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-3209
  • Douglas Kellner

    Professor, Education and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    kellner@ucla.edu
    Office  3022B Moore Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-0977
  • Purnima Mankekar

    Professor, Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Film, Television and Digital Media, and Gender Studies

    Subfield: feminist media studies; theories of affect, affective labor, affective publics and futurities; digital media and the digitized workplace; transnational cultural studies, feminist anthropology and ethnography; South Asian America, South Asia.

    Contact Information

    Email    mankekar@ucla.edu
    Office 
    Phone 
  • Kathleen McHugh

    Professor, English and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    mchughla@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  244 Kaplan Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-4173
  • Uri McMillan

    Associate Professor, English and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    umcmillan@ucla.edu
    Office  210 Kaplan Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-4173
  • Safiya Noble

    Assistant Professor, Education and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    snoble@ucla.edu
    Office  GSE & IS 210
    Phone  310-206-2467
  • Rafael Perez-Torres

    Professor, English and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    perezt@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  246 Kaplan Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-4438
  • Lucia Re

    Professor, Italian and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    re@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  354 Royce Hall
    Phone  (310) 794-8907
  • Abigail Saguy

    Professor, Sociology and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    saguy@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  102 Haines Hall
    Phone  (310) 794-4979
  • Jenny Sharpe

    Professer, English and Gender Studies

    Subfield: Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean Literatures, Representations of Slave Women, Literary Archives, Gendering of Black Atlantic Cultures

    Contact Information

    Email    sharpe@ucla.edu
    Office  274 Kaplan Hall
    Phone  310-825-4173
  • David Shorter

    Professor, World Arts & Cultures and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    shorter atsign ucladotedu
    Office 
    Phone 

Emeriti

  • Carole Browner

    Distinguished Research Professor, Anthropology and Gender Studies

    Subfield: Gender, reproduction, healthocial impact of decoding the human genome, reproductive politics; Latin America, urban U.S. Subfield: Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    browner@ucla.edu
    Office 
    Phone  310-825-4119
  • Ellen DuBois

    Distinguished Professor, History and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    edubois@ucla.edu
    Office  6244 Bunche Hall
    Phone  (310) 825-1846
  • Sondra Hale

    Research Professor and Professor Emerita, Anthropology and Gender Studies

    Subfield: Gender; political economy; social movements; postcolonial and cultural studies; nationalism and colonialism; diaspora; aesthetics; Islam/Islamism; Middle East and Africa (mainly Sudan and Eritrea) Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    sonhale@ucla.edu
    Office  391 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-6505
  • Sandra Harding

    Distinguished Research Professor, Education and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    sharding@gseis.ucla.edu
    Office  Moore Hall 2123
    Phone  (310) 206-0492
  • Francoise Lionnet

    Distinguished Research Professor, French & Francophone Studies and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    flionnet@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  222A Royce Hall
    Phone  (310) 206-6096
  • Christine A. Littleton

    Professor Emerita, Law and Women's Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    littleton@law.ucla.edu
    Office  UCLA School of Law
    Phone 
  • James A. Schultz

    Professor Emeritus, Germanic Languages and Gender Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    jschultz@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  331 Royce Hall
    Phone  310-206-3977

Continuing Lecturers

  • Rhonda Hammer

    Continuing Lecturer, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Critical Feminisms; Patriarchal Terrorism; Politics of Representation; Colonization; Globalization; Cultural Studies; Critical Media Literacy; Engaged Pedagogy

    Contact Information

    Email    rhammer@ucla.edu
    Office  1120 Rolfe Hall
    Phone